Fighter Knocks Out Opponent And Referee At The Same Time

Fighter Knocks Out Opponent And Referee At The Same Time

Some pretty crazy things have been seen in MMA over the years. Think of the craziness that ensued after UFC 229 when Khabib Nurmagomedov lost his marbles, vaulting the cage and launching himself into Conor McGregor’s camp! There is also plenty that can go wrong in the ring or the cage as we see in the clip below that shows a rarely seen double TKO!

The fight in Pattaya, Thailand saw Chinese fighter Gou Dakui absolutely dominate local Super X Sitsontidech during the first round and the story was looking to be the same in the second. Dakui, the more experienced fighter managed to get Sitsontidech on the ropes before lending a brutal combination that saw him drop his hands. The referee saw this too and leaped in to stop the fight.

Credit: Twitter

Unfortunately, the move to stoppage cam at the same time that Dakui wound up for a head kick. The kick was already on its way by the time the referee arrived to save Sitsontidech. The ref was in the wrong place at the wrong time as he copped the brunt right in the snout.

Credit: Twitter

He went down for the count, clutching his nose, obviously not expecting the strike to come his way. The crowd was in stunned silence as medics entered the ring, not to attend Sitsontidech, but primarily to look after the referee. The poor Thai local in the red shorts had also slumped to the canvas yet no one seemed to go to him to see if he needed help.

Credit: Twitter

Meanwhile, Dakui, somewhat oblivious to the chaos that had unfolded, was parading around the ring trying to conjure a crowd reaction to his win. The hushed response led him to see just what had happened and he went to first check that the referee and his opponent were okay, before offering the traditional prayer of thanks.

Check out the craziness on the player below!